Program | Poster | Photos | Presentations | Feedback | Media

1st Annual New Sun Conference on Aboriginal Arts:
 Healing through the Arts in the Aboriginal Community
Carleton University, Saturday, March 2, 2002
P r o g r a m

Registration, coffee and conversation

Welcome: Dr. Allan J. Ryan
New Sun Chair in Aboriginal Art and Culture

Welcome, John Medicine Horse Kelly,
Director, Carleton University Centre for Aboriginal Education, Research and Culture

Drew Hayden Taylor
Award-winning Ojibway author, playwright and director of
Redskins, Tricksters, and Puppy Stew
an NFB production on the healing power of humour.

Robert Kavanagh
Executive Director and Academic Dean, White Mountain
Academy of the Arts, Elliot Lake
Earl Commanda
Chief, Serpent River First Nation, and Chair, North Shore Tribal Council;
collaborators in the formation of the White Mountain Academy,
a unique cross-cultural art school.

Luncheon of Native Cuisine in the Carleton University Art Gallery foyer

braised rabbit with cranberries and juniper berries
wild rice mix
roasted root vegetables
vegetarian: rice stuffed squash
upside-down maple pudding

Luncheon music by Ian Phillips (Rohahes), Mohawk elder and flutist,
and Paula du Hamel, Peigan drummer and dancer

Don Kelly
Ojibway comedian featured on CBC TV’s Comics and in the
NFB video, Redskins, Tricksters and Puppy Stew.

Jeffrey Thomas
Onondaga photographer and curator of Where are the Children?,
an exhibition of residential school photographs
for the Aboriginal Healing Foundation.

Nutrition break

Evie Mark
Inuit film director/host/co-producer of Before I Was Born,
a video on FAS/E (Fetal Alcohol Syndrome/Effect)
produced for Pauktuutit Inuit Women’s Association.
Roberta Stout
Project co-ordinator of Before I Was Born video and educational media kit.

Pannel discussion with all presenters and participants
on issues discussed during the day

Closing remarks


A presentation of the New Sun Chair in Aboriginal Art and Culture
with the support of the Dean of Arts and Social Sciences and the New Sun Fund
administered by the Community Foundation of Ottawa.